Twins Win Babe Ruth Senior League Championship

Four players receive Sloan Awards before the game

With perfect weather for baseball, the Twins won the Vienna Babe Ruth Senior League championship tournament Saturday defeating the Nationals (2-0) in a nail-biting game at Waters Field. 

Jeff Cazenas threw a complete game gem, allowing only three hits, a hit-by-pitch and striking out 10 batters in seven innings in a duel with Nationals' pitcher Patrick Eason for most of the game. 

Matt Livingston and Kalib Ashcraft, both with two hits, drove home the only runs of the game to win the game for the Twins, who also won the regular season.

The championship team, managed by Frank Nothaft, are: Kalib Ashcraft, Daniel Ashley, Nick Brunori, Jeffrey Cazenas, Marc Dazell, Nick Grisius, Erik Hall, Adolfo Lares, Nikolai Lipnick, Matthew Livingston, John Nothaft, Kevin Olson, Greg Smith, and Matthew Zimpelman. 

The runner-up Nationals, under the direction of Pat O’Obrien, are: Kevin Abt, Daniel Delgado, Andrew Di Francisco, Patrick Eason, Ryan Galvin, Michael Haverty, Gavin Hoffman, Michael Kelley, John Lockard, Patrick McMahon, Tommy Mulroney, Matthew O’Brien, Ryan Power and Stuart Wickersham. 

Scott Rawson Sloan Life Awards

Before the game, the Vienna Babe Ruth League announced the 2012 winners of the Sloan awards, in memory of Scott Rawson Sloan, who was killed in an automobile accident with three of his friends June 18, 1992.

Scott was 16 years old and scheduled to be the Madison High School varsity catcher in 1993. He played in three Babe Ruth League All Star Teams, including the Prep Team (13-year-old league) that won the State Championship.

Following his death, Scott's parents established a memorial fund intended to promote Babe Ruth League Baseball in Vienna. The Scott Rawson Sloan Life Award, supported by the Scott Rawson Sloan Memorial Fund, honors Babe Ruth baseball players for demonstrating qualities for which Scott was known, including: love for the game of baseball; demonstrated respect for other players, coaches and umpires; leadership by example; and generously teaching and sharing with other players.

The 2012 winners of the award are Matt Livingston (Senior League), Chris Anzilotti (15-year-old), Trevor Weinstock (14) and Justin Ruiz (13).

Jose Delgado contributed this report.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something